Larne Branch

When?

Larne Branch usually meets on the third Monday of the month at 7:30 p.m. from September to April.

Where?

Meetings are usually held in Larne Bowling & Lawn Tennis Club, 112-120 Glenarm Road, Larne, BT40 1DZ.


Annual Subscription

for the year 1st September 2017 to 31st August 2018

  • £22 for Single Membership
  • £30 for Joint Membership (2 people at the same address)

Officers 2017-2018

  • Chairperson: Bill Longmore
  • Secretary: Glenyss Glass E-mail: Larne@nifhs.org
  • Treasurer: Dorothy Kane

Social Media

Larne Branch hosts a Closed Facebook Group.
This may be a useful Group to join for furthering your family history research in the locality.


Publications

Larne Branch has produced two publications based on its research activities:

These books are available to buy:

  • Locally in Larne at The Book Nook, Apsleys Newsagents, and the Visitor Information Centre.
  • Online through the Shop.

 

Programme

Monday 18 September 2017
Landed Estate Papers
Gillian Hunt, Ulster Historical Foundation

Saturday 7 October 2017
Open Day at the NIFHS Research Centre (C4)
Valley Business Centre, Newtownabbey

Monday 16 October 2017
Meeting Cancelled – due to adverse weather forecast
The History of the Kelly Family from 1820 (Kelly Coal Boats)
Kelly Wilson

Monday 20 November 2017
What’s in a Name
Kathleen Morrison, Newtownabbey Branch

Monday 4  December 2017 (1st Monday)
Christmas Night – Historical Superstitions
Hugh Burns, Larne Branch

Monday 15 January 2018
Queen Victoria’s Gene
Jenning Cumming, Newtownabbey Branch

Thursday 25 January 2018
Visit to PRONI, Titanic Quarter, Belfast

Monday 19 February 2018
Back To Our Past Workshop

Tuesday 6 March 2018
Pub Quiz at Matties Meeting House, Cairncastle

Monday 26 March 2018 (4th Monday)
The 1798 Rebellion
Dr David Hume MBE

Monday 16 April 2018
(Annual General Meeting)
The Linen Hall Library
Samantha McCombe, Librarian LHL

Monday 21 May 2018
Larne Main Street circa 1950
Liam Kelly

Saturday 9 June 2018
Day Trip to Clifton House and Graveyard