Newtownabbey Branch

During the Coronavirus Emergency

Renew or Join as a Branch Member online

Want to Renew?
The Renewal Forms for the new season are being sent out shortly. However, the Coronavirus Emergency restrictions and precautions mean that the monthly Branch Meetings where the forms and payments are usually handed in cannot take place. So how can membership be renewed?

  • Do it Online. A new option this year.
    Fill in a form and then pay by debit/credit card via PayPal.
    Go to the Online Newtownabbey Branch Membership Form.
  • Post the “form and cheque” to the Branch Treasurer is an option.

Whichever option we look forward to you being with us this year.

Want to Join?
No need to worry about Renewal Forms.
Go to the Online Newtownabbey Branch Membership Form.

We look forward to you joining with us this year.

Annual Subscription

for the year 1st September 2020 to 31st August 2021

  • £12 for Single Membership
  • £18 for Joint Membership (2 people at the same address)

Officers 2020-21

  • Chairperson: Etta Mann
  • Secretary: Evelyn Barrett – Email:
  • Treasurer: Siobhan Watson

Social Media

Newtownabbey Branch hosts a Facebook Page.


There are several publications based on research activities in the locality:

These items are available to buy:

  • Online through the Shop.

The-Corner-GraveyardCD - Carved In StoneBook - The Hidden Graveyard


Newtownabbey Branch usually meets on the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. from September to May.


Due to Coronavirus restrictions we will not meet in our usual venue. All meetings will take place online using Zoom until further notice. Meetings are normally held in the Drama Theatre, Glengormley High School, 134 Ballyclare Road, Newtownabbey, BT36 5HP.


Programme 2020-21

The Branch has arranged to use Zoom video meetings for Talks and to give members a forum for their interests and research during the Coronavirus restrictions.

Please contact our Branch Secretary, Evelyn Barrett, if you would like to participate in the Zoom meetings.  (Start time 7pm.)  Email:

Help will be available for members who have not previously used Zoom.

Monday 12 October 2020
Carrickfergus – Walk Around the Walls
Ron Bishop, Carrickfergus and District Historical Society

Monday 9 November 2020
Using Google Earth Pro
Elaine Fraser, Victoria Genealogical Society, British Columbia, Canada

Monday 14 December 2020
Christmas – the Facts and the Folklore
Dr Robert Curran

January 2021 (Date to be confirmed)
Martin McDowell, NIFHS

Monday 8 February 2021
Votes for Women: the Suffrage Movement in Ulster
Myrtle Hill, visiting research fellow in the School of History,
Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics, QUB

Monday 8 March 2021

April 2021

May 2021
Speaker TBA

Monday 14 June 2021