Newtownabbey Branch

When?

Newtownabbey Branch usually meets on the second Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. from September to May.

Where?

Meetings are normally held in the Drama Theatre, Glengormley High School, 134 Ballyclare Road, Newtownabbey, BT36 5HP.


Annual Subscription

for the year 1st September 2019 to 31st August 2020

  • £20 for Single Membership
  • £30 for Joint Membership (2 people at the same address)

Officers 2019-20

  • Chairperson: Etta Mann
  • Secretary: Evelyn Barrett – Email: Newtownabbey@nifhs.org
  • Treasurer: Kathleen Morrison

Social Media

Newtownabbey Branch hosts a Facebook Page.


Programme 2019-20

Monday 9 September 2019
Making Sense of the Census
Roddy Hegarty, Director of the O’Fiaich Library and Archive, Armagh

Monday 14 October 2019
Researching Your WW1 Ancestors
Alan Rosborough, Ballymena Branch, NIFHS

Monday 11 November 2019
Votes for Women: the Suffrage Movement in Ulster
Myrtle Hill, visiting research fellow in the School of History,
Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics, QUB

Monday 9 December 2019
A Victorian Childhood in East Antrim
Ron Bishop, Carrickfergus and District Historical Society


Monday 13 January 2020
Members Workshop

Monday 10 February 2020
Breaking Down Brick Walls
Martin McDowell, Education and Development Officer, NIFHS

Monday 9 March 2020
The Belfast Famine
Jenny Cumming, Newtownabbey Branch, NIFHS

Monday 6 April 2020
NIFHS County Books and Research Guides
Sandra Ardis, Deputy Projects Co-ordinator, NIFHS

Monday 11 May 2020
Branch AGM followed by “The History of the Barron Family”
Stephen Scott

Monday 8 June 2020
Titbits and Tales
Eddie Connolly (Eddie’s Extracts)


Publications

There are several publications based on research activities in the locality:

These items are available to buy:

  • Online through the Shop.

The-Corner-GraveyardCD - Carved In StoneBook - The Hidden Graveyard